Date: April 19, 2021

To: Tommy Walker, Policy Director for Rules Committee Chair Senator Klobuchar, and Allison Hunn, Policy Advisor and lead staff for Senator Merkley on S 1 For the People Act,

(for further distribution to Greta Bedekovics, Senate Rules Committee staff if appropriate.)

In the interest of broadening and strengthening the technical expertise of the Election Assistance Commission Board of Advisors we the undersigned request consideration that future markup of S.1 the For The People Act (2021) include the following edits regarding the membership of the EAC Board of Advisors. Underline indicates desired insertion and strikeout indicates desired deletion:

SEC. 1106. APPOINTMENTS TO EAC BOARD OF ADVISORS.

(a) IN GENERAL.—Section 214(a) of the Help America Vote Act of 2002 (52 U.S.C. 20944(a)) is amended—

- (1) in the matter preceding paragraph (1), by striking "37" and inserting "4961"; and
- (2) by adding at the end the following new paragraphs:
- "(17) Two members appointed by the National Council on Disability.
- "(18) Two members appointed by the Assistant Secretary of Health and Human Services for Aging.
- "(19) Four members from organizations, whose executive leadership team consists of fifty one percent of individuals with disabilities, representing the interests of voters with disabilities who are recognized experts in election verification and integrity, of whom—
 - "(A) two members shall be appointed by the Committee on Education and Labor of the House of Representatives, of whom one shall be appointed by the chair and one shall be appointed by the ranking minority member; and
 - "(B) two members shall be appointed by the Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions of the Senate, of whom one shall be appointed by the chair and one shall be appointed by the ranking minority member.
- "(20) Four members from organizations representing the interests of older voters who are recognized experts in election verification and integrity, of whom—
 - "(A) two members shall be appointed by the Committee on Education and Labor of the House of Representatives, of whom one shall be appointed by the chair and one shall be appointed by the ranking minority member; and
 - "(B) two members shall be appointed by the Special Committee on Aging of the Senate, of whom one shall be appointed by the chair and one shall be appointed by the ranking minority member."
- "(21) Twelve members who are nationally recognized subject matter experts about election integrity, having specializations to include election cybersecurity, authentication, accessibility, transparency, verification and auditin, and who are not full time election officials, of whom—
 - "(A) two members shall be appointed by the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA);
 - "(B) two members shall be appointed by the National Academy of Sciences;
 - "(C) two members shall be appointed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology;

"(D) two members shall be appointed by the Association for Computing Machinery;

- "(E) two members shall be appointed by the American Statistical Association;
- "(F) one member shall be appointed by the National Science Board; and
- "(G) one member shall be appointed by the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency."

(b) EFFECTIVE DATE.—The amendments made by subsection (a) shall take effect on January 1, 2022.

Names in alphabetical order below represent personal opinions and not that of the organization(s) they represent. Affiliations are for identification only.

Sincerely,

Andrew W. Appel Eugene Higgins Professor of Computer Science, Princeton University

Matt Blaze McDevitt Professor of Computer Science and Law, Georgetown University

Harvie Branscomb, electionquality.com, Election Transparency and Technology Specialist

Mark Halvorson Citizens for Election Integrity Minnesota, Founder & Board Chair

Neal McBurnett Election Integrity Consultant, Boulder CO

John L. McCarthy, retired computer scientist, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Mark Ritchie Minnesota Secretary of State, (2007-2015); Member, Board of Advisors, U.S. Election Assistance Commission

Ron Rivest M.I.T. Institute Professor; former member of the National Institute of Standards and Technology Technical Guidelines Development Committee

Barbara Simons IBM Research (retired); Member, Board of Advisors, U.S. Election Assistance Commission Dr. Stephanie Singer Portland State University; Former Chair, Philadelphia County Board of Elections

Bruce Schneier Fellow and Lecturer, Harvard Kennedy School

Eugene H. Spafford Professor, Purdue University

Philip B. Stark Professor and Associate Dean, University of California, Berkeley; Member, Board of Advisors, U.S. Election Assistance Commission

Luther G. Weeks, Moderator, State Audit Working Group, Computer Scientist and Executive Director, Connecticut Citizen Election Audit
